Past Travels | Brazil

 It was in the year 2014 when I got the chance to visit Brazil. It was indeed a very unforgettable trip for a number of reasons:

  • It was my second solo overseas trip
  • So far the longest, most tiring trip I’ve ever had. It was a 25 – hour journey!
  • First time to lost a luggage  & first time to  almost missed my connecting flight! I had to look for Qatar office to re-claim my luggage but unfortunately, no one can understand & speak English until I found a local who can speak little English.
  • Took a cab to my hotel only to find out I didn’t have enough money to pay. The cab was not accepting credit card payment, tried to get money from the cash machine but my card didn’t work! I was left with no other option but to borrow cash from the hotel attendant with a promise to pay the next time
  • I had to pay  Globe Php 7,000.00 for all the data charges I incurred during that trip! I had to use google translate @ maps!

But apart from the “not – so – good” experiences I had, I also had wonderful memories of Brazil. For one, I will never forget the day I toured the lovely place of Ouro Preto. Ouro Preto is a city located in the state of Minas Gerais. It was named as World Heritage Site by UNESCO because of its outstanding Baroque architecture.  Ouro Preto is actually a 2 hour drive from Belo Horizonte. I initially planned to take a cab but Alessandra (a Brazilian girl I met and later on became my friend) offered me a ride. I instantly fell in love with the place. It was like traveling back to the old times! The city was well – preserved and everything’s picture perfect. It was indeed one of the best places I’ve been to!

And since I was in Brazil already, I can’t let  my chance of visiting RIO DE JAINERO pass! I’ve traveled so far! Might as well grab all the opportunity I can! So, Rio De Jainero is an hour plane ride from Ouro Preto. I was trying to save money thus thought of taking a bus instead. But I realized it will be a waste of time.

I arrived in Rio around 9:00 AM and instead of getting a cab to my hotel, I decided to take the bus. While waiting, I asked the people waiting what bus will take me to Ipanema. I spoke to at least 3 people before I met someone (grandpa) who understands English. Grandpa asked me where in Ipanema I was going. I said the beach. It was then I discovered that the whole place is called Ipanema! To make the long story short – I was able to locate my hotel with the help of the people  I met at the bus, the streets and the store. Here’s some of my favorite pictures from Rio ❤

Hope to visit Brazil again! ❤

Leave a Reply

